2015 Golf Classic Results

June 18-19, 2015, Chena Bend Golf Course, Fairbanks, Alaska

An enormous thank you to the 120 golfers, 50 volunteers and 50 sponsors for “chipping in for education” at the recent 15th annual Morris Thompson Memorial Golf Classic! The 2015 event took place Thursday and Friday, June 18 and 19 in Fairbanks, Alaska. See event photos on Facebook.

This year’s golf classic was remarkable for several reasons – gross income (before expenses) from the Calcutta, live auction and golf classic totaled more than $255,000! Plus, the tournament field sold out within two weeks of mailing out the invitation, and all 18 holes were sponsored.

Congratulations, Winners!

A total of 120 golfers on 30 teams participated in the 2015 Morris Thompson Memorial Golf Classic. Congratulations to this year’s winning teams, including the first place golf classic winners, Micah Bartlett, Stewart Thompson, Dennis Mullen and Frank Thompson, who were also the winning Calcutta team buyer!

Calcutta Auction Results

The Calcutta, held Thursday evening at the Wedgewood Resort, featured a live auction. Thank you to all who participated, especially the auction winners:

  • Trip for two to Reno, Nevada, including a five-night stay at the Peppermill Hotel: Mariah Pitka, $2,200
  • Trip for two to Seattle, Washington, including a two-night stay at the Tulalip Resort and Casino: Patrick Duke, $2,000
  • New set of irons in collectors golf bag, plus round of golf at Fairbanks Golf Course: Jad Sadler, $950
  • Limited edition Callaway Major June Staff Tour Bag: Marissa Flannery, $1,550
  • Srixon bag: Craig Shenher, $700

Thank you Volunteers!

  • Linda Armstrong
  • Charlisa Attla
  • Willow Bowen
  • Donna Brooks
  • Kim Carlo
  • Jennifer Claxton
  • Liz Dayton
  • Jordan Demientieff
  • Marina Evans
  • Kaylyn Hale
  • Allen Hayton
  • Daphne Huntington
  • Jennifer Imus
  • Josie Jakway
  • Michelle Joseph
  • Max Kamarake
  • Maudrey Kriska
  • Carrol Lefevour
  • Darlene Malamute
  • Charlene Marth
  • Jamie Marunde
  • Kathy Mayo
  • Lori McCaffery
  • Lindsay McClintock
  • Jane McConkey
  • Kathleen Meckel
  • Bruce Miller
  • Doris Miller
  • Kelly Mitchell
  • Janelle Morris
  • Patrice O’Connell
  • Charlene Ostbloom
  • Barbara Pomar
  • Helen Renfrew
  • Janet Renfrew
  • Jordan Sanford
  • Wayne Sawchuk
  • Geri Simon
  • Joy Simon
  • Dana Smith
  • Jenna Sommer
  • Katie Sommer
  • Adele Stickman
  • Sommer Stickman
  • Erika Swanson
  • Howie Thies
  • Kelly Ward
  • Mary Weymiller
  • Janelle Williams
  • Raquel Williams

Planning Committee

  • Jordan Sanford, Chair
  • Maudrey Kriska
  • Charlene Marth
  • Doris Miller
  • Charlene Ostbloom
  • Helen Renfrew
  • Janet Renfrew
  • Aaron Schutt
  • Geri Simon

Sponsor Appreciation

Doctorate Level – $15,000 and above

  • Doyon, Limited Family of Companies
  • Key Bank
  • Key Equipment Finance
  • Sodexo

Bachelor’s Level – $5,000

  • Alaska Airlines
  • BP
  • Calista Corporation
  • CIRI
  • ConocoPhillips Alaska
  • Council Tree Investors
  • Doyon Drilling, Inc.
  • Flowline Alaska, Inc.
  • Guess & Rudd
  • Peak Oilfield Services Co.
  • Petrochemical Resources Alaska
  • Wells Fargo

Golf Ball Sponsors – $3,500

  • Thompson Metal Fab, Inc.

Associate’s Level – $2,500

  • Davis Wright Tremaine LLP
  • Dorsey & Whitney LLP
  • Doyon Anvil
  • GCI
  • Nana

Insurance Hole-in-One Sponsor – $2,000

  • Explore Fairbanks Alaska

Hole Sponsor – $1,500

  • Airport Equipment Rental
  • Alaska Communications
  • Alaska National Insurance Company
  • Bank of America, Merrill Lynch
  • BDO
  • Chapman Capitol Consulting, Inc.
  • Doyon, Limited Board of Directors
  • Doyon Foundation Alumni Association
  • Doyon Utilities
  • Earnest Partners
  • EY
  • Geokinetics
  • Kinross Fort Knox
  • JP Harvey
  • Burgess & Niple
  • Hoefer Wysocki Architecture
  • Pennoni
  • M&T Insurance Agency, Inc.
  • SAExploration
  • Stoel Rives, LLP
  • Wortham

Certificate Level – $1,000

  • Fairbanks Native Association
  • Taiga Ventures
  • Brice
  • KPMG

    Scholarship Recipients

    With the support of our golfers and sponsors, Doyon Foundation awarded scholarships to the following students in 2014 – 2015:

    • Richard Cole, Bachelor’s of Science, Professional Pilot
    • Esther Frykman, Associate’s of Applied Science, Nursing
    • Sheila George, Bachelor’s of Arts, Business Management
    • Bethany Green, Bachelor’s of Science, Physical Therapy
    • Sharon Hildebrand, Master’s Degree in Public Administration
    • Mara James, Bachelor’s of Arts, International Studies, Languages
    • Loretta Lolnitz, Associate’s of Applied Science, Construction Management
    • Patrick Lovell, Bachelor’s of Science, Engineering
    • Deanna Mayo, Associate’s of Arts, Applied Business
    • Jennifer Romer, Master’s of Science, Sports Business
    • Emily Sexton, Bachelor’s of Arts, Economic/Political Science
    • Chanel Simon, Bachelor’s of Arts, Accounting
    • Jessica Ullrich, Doctor of Philosophy, Social Work
    • Clarissa Zeller, Bachelor’s of Science, Biology

    A special thank you to Jennifer Romer, a $5,000 graduate competitive scholarship recipient and the student speaker at this year’s Calcutta. Jennifer, an Athabascan/Yup’ik originally from Fairbanks and Bethel, is a graduate student at New York University, where she is pursuing a master’s of science in sports business, professional and collegiate operations. In her address, Jennifer spoke on “life-long learning as it relates to a main component of our culture and my career.” She also thanked Doyon, Limited and Doyon Foundation employees and volunteers for their tireless effort.

    “Doyon Foundation has provided me with financial support that has contributed to successfully completing year one of two of my graduate studies,” she said.