Doyon Foundation is pleased to announce the results of our recent board of directors election: Orie G. Williams and Craig L. Fleener joined as new members, and incumbents Jennifer Adams and Matthew Calhoun were re-elected to the Foundation board.

Welcome new members

Orie G. Williams

Williams lives in Fairbanks, where he is the CEO of the Interior Regional Housing Authority.

He is a current member of the Doyon, Limited board of directors, and served as president/CEO of Doyon, Limited, and the family of companies from 2002 to 2007. Williams attended Nenana Public School, graduated from Lathrop High School, and attended the University of Alaska Fairbanks and Skadron College of Business in California. He also holds an economic development and financial professional certification.

Craig L. Fleener

Fleener, originally from Fort Yukon and currently residing in Anchorage, is a previous Doyon Foundation scholarship recipient. He holds a Bachelor of Science in natural resources management and a Master of Arts in intelligence studies, and is currently pursuing a PhD in law and policy.

Fleener has parallel career paths both as a civilian and in the military. He is currently the deputy advisor of Arctic security affairs at Ted Stevens Center for Arctic Security Studies, and serves as a senior intelligence officer with the Alaska Air National Guard.

Welcome re-elected directors

Jennifer Adams was first elected to the Foundation board in 2019; she currently serves as vice president. A previous Foundation scholarship recipient, Adams holds a master’s in business administration from the University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF). She is the rural director for the Alaska Small Business Development Center at the University of Alaska Anchorage.

Matthew Calhoun, also a previous Foundation scholarship recipient, is an assistant professor of civil engineering at the University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA). He holds a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from UAA, a master’s degree in civil engineering from the University of Colorado at Boulder, and a doctorate of philosophy in civil engineering from UAF. 

Thank you, outgoing members

We extend our deep gratitude to outgoing board members: Sonta Hamilton Roach and Mariah Pitka-Jenkins.

Hamilton Roach first joined the board in 2013, most recently serving as secretary/treasurer. Pitka-Jenkins has served on the board since 2019, before transitioning into her current role as executive director of Doyon Foundation.

The Foundation’s nine-member board guides our efforts to provide educational, career and cultural opportunities to enhance the identity and quality of life for Doyon shareholders. Learn more about our board at